• “Great Place” – Tripadvisor

    Now this is more like it, lovely hotel, great staff, fast wi-fi and free, as it should be these days. Really good comfortable rooms and an excellent Breakfast, freshly cooked no dry buffets here. Thoroughly recommend this Hotel

  • “Hasbilbo” – Tripadvisor

    We stayed here for one night last week it’s a lovely hotel also my son and daughter in law got married here in April this year and it was amazing all the wedding staff ever first class nothing was to much trouble for any of them at all. They all had smiles all day long and helped make there day really special. We had a meal it was good food and good quality and plenty and the price was good. The rooms are really nice the bed was very comfortable and there was all the things you usually get in a hotel like tea and coffee and bathroom toiletries, the towels were very clean and nice and white. There is plenty of space for parking your car it also has safely barriers to the entrance and exit which is good and added safety for your car. It’s a short walk into the centre of Retford town so if you do not want to drive that’s good. Its not an over priced hotel for what you get it’s up there with a good 4 star hotel I would recommend it for a stay you could do a lot worse and pay more, also I would highly recommend it for weddings as we all really enjoyed our son and daughter in laws day.

  • Amazing hotel. Fantastic customer service – Tripadvisor

    We visited this hotel for a family wedding. We booked 2 rooms. As the wedding happened before check in time, we were given our rooms early. We had forgot to let them know we had one vegetarian with us. They sorted a veg meal last minute. The room wasn’t quite the one we asked for so they changed our room with no problems at all. The hotel was lovely and spotless and the staff were so lovely. The breakfast was cooked to order and lovely and hot. Nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Nikki Smith July 2017

    Absolutely fantastic. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. We had an awesome time at our daughter leanne Smith and adam marshalls wedding 30th July 2017 xxxzz thank you xxxxx

  • Belinda Taylor June 2017

    Me and 8 of my friends went for afternoon tea at the west Retford Hotel.it was absolutely gorgeous, the service was excellent and the food was delicious. Thank you . Definitely well worth the £12.50 each we spent. Xx

  • Nigel Holmes June 2017

    A family get together for Sunday lunch 04/05/2017. I think I would say very good value for money, Compared to the prices of other hotels in the area . A party of 9 Adults and 3 kids. And not one complaint about the food. Even from our fussy eaters. We will defiantly be back soon.

  • Louise & Mark Hothersall May 2017

    No words can express how happy I am right now.
    We had our wedding yesterday.
    The sun was shining and we managed to have our ceremony in the beautiful gardens.
    Both Pam and Jess made sure everything was just perfect before the Big Day.
    I must have messaged Jess a million times leading upto it (sorry �).
    Thankyou so much to both of you.
    Alice took care of everything from the night before and well into our evening reception.
    She was amazing!!!!!!
    The staff can’t do enough for you. Nothing is too much trouble.
    There isn’t a single thing I can fault about our special day.
    So glad we chose to have it here.
    Thank you so much from Louise & Mark Hothersall xxx

  • Facebook review – Becky Lunn

    We stayed there the 28th 29th Dec 2026 for my sisters wedding. It was amazing the whole event from us turning up the day before the big day to us leaving lunch time the day after. The hotel staff was so helpful and nice, nothing was to much trouble. I would like to thank Jess and especially Alice who was the MC for the wedding for assisting us. Good choice at breakfast hot and cold, all cooked fresh. The meal we had for the wedding breakfast was excellent so tasty. The rooms are nice and very clean, if you are thinking of getting married I would definitely recommend the bridal suite it is so spacious the extra room Is needed when getting the bride ready. Even though it was a winter wedding we used the stunning gardens for the photos. This hotel is an ideal place to get married all year round. The wedding day was perfect.l would definitely return. See you soon

  • Facebook review – Adele Swift

    We stayed here the night last night as we get married at the west Retford on 27.12.17.
    The room was spacious, very clean, comfortable and warm.
    We had a meal at night and there was plenty to choose from off a couple of different menus. The food was extremely good as was the continental and full English breakfast.
    Overall it was an excellent stay and Connor wait to get married there in a year. Thank you.

  • Facebook review – Susan Patchett

    Would just like to say a big thank you to all the staff at the hotel we have just celebrated our daughter’s wedding on Sunday the 27th of November 2016 and I couldn’t have wish for a better venue the grounds were stunning the staff were amazing nothing was to much trouble and the day when perfectly thank you xxx (mother of the bride)

  • Facebook review – Gemma Mascarenhas

    Facebook review – Gemma Mascarenhas

    Had our wedding reception here on the 6th August 2016 and everything was amazing. The staff were so helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble from the planning till the next morning. The venue, the grounds, the bridal suite and hotel rooms were all absolutely fabulous. We could not have asked for anything more would highly recommend this venue. Our guests were very impressed and all had an enjoyable afternoon as did we. Thank you very much for everything 🙂

  • Christmas stay

    we stayed again for the second time at christmas and found everything as good as it was the first time all the staff were friendly and helpful as always we would recommend the christmas package it is relly good value for money looing forward to going back in the future

  • Sisters Wedding

    We stayed there the 28th 29th Dec 2026 for my sisters wedding. It was amazing the whole event from us turning up the day before the big day to us leaving lunch time the day after. The hotel staff was so helpful and nice, nothing was to much trouble. I would like to thank Jess and especially Alice who was the MC for the wedding for assisting us. Good choice at breakfast hot and cold, all cooked fresh. The meal we had for the wedding breakfast was excellent so tasty. The rooms are nice and very clean, if you are thinking of getting married I would definitely recommend the bridal suite it is so spacious the extra room Is needed when getting the bride ready. Even though it was a winter wedding we used the stunning gardens for the photos. This hotel is an ideal place to get married all year round. The wedding day was perfect.l would definitely return.
    Becky (Maid of Honour) x

  • Does not deserve a 3 star should be at least a 4 star

    Could not fault this hotel Received a warm welcome at reception Room was comfortable and very well appointed Bar food had an excellent choice. Breakfast was also very good and listed at £10.95 but if paid when checking in was £7.00 The staff were very helpful and friendly Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Excellent food and lovely atmosphere

    I organised a pre christmas lunch for a group of 16 people at this hotel and the meal was enjoyed by us all on 20th December. The orangery room in which we ate was really lovely, the decor is very tasteful enhanced by the christmas decorations. We were made very welcome and the service throughout was faultless, once we sat dowm our food was served very quickly, the food was hot, well presented and very tasty. With there being 16 of us quite a selection of the food on offer was sampled and everyone commented that theur particular selections were excellent, portions were good, nice selectiion of veg and plenty ofit. At no point were we rushed and staff were really accomodating. So pleased i chose the West Retford for our gathering and have nothing negative to say about the whole experience.

  • Ms Julie Black

    I stay in hotels quite often and I’ve stayed in this hotel quite regularly of late. Every time I stay at this hotel the entire team and the hotel manager make my stay very pleasurable. They go above and beyond in this hotel to ensure you have a relaxed, luxurious stay. The foods nice and very reasonably priced.

    I have already recommended this hotel to work colleagues and friends but would 100% recommend it to anyone wanting to stay within this area or anyone living within this area.
    5***** hotel!

  • Beautiful surroundings…very comfy beds

    Location was very pretty and very convenient with a petrol station just down the road and restaurants as well. Lovely venue for weddings. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! Great selection of breakfast too top it off!

  • My Wedding Day

    I had my wedding last Wednesday at the West Retford Hotel. From the day we went to view the hotel till the time we checked out after our wedding we had the most amazing experience there. The staff were fault less, the wedding went like clock work. They made all our guests and people involved with our wedding feel so welcome and nothing was to much trouble. Throughout the day someone was always on hand but in the back ground and they made sure we had whatever we needed at the right time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone I cant imagine a better day than what we had. Perfect day in the most perfect place.

  • Wedding Weekend

    Spent the weekend there recently for my friends wedding, the venue was perfect beautiful hotel and gardens were lovely, the staff were lovely too very helpful and friendly. Our rooms were beautiful big comfy beds and all we needed.
    The wedding was perfect outside in the garden in the autumn sun. What a great place to stay when that way or even for a cheeky weekend away with loved ones

  • Our wedding 16th Sep 2016

    We had our wedding reception at the West Retford hotel and my wife and I were very happy with the service provided and how smoothly everything went on the day, so firstly I’d like to thank everyone at the hotel for helping to make the day special.

    The venue itself is perfect for a wedding, from the grand entrance and the beautiful facade, and then the absolutely gorgeous gardens at the rear which are perfect for photos and gatherings. The main downstairs hall is great for holding the reception and is ideal for 60-100 guests.

    The rooms are actually in a separate building which is ideal when guests want to retire from the party, as the separate building is quiet. The rooms are also well furnished, clean and the beds comfortable.

    For the meal we had the Soup to start, Venison & Mash for main, with cheesecake for dessert. The food was very nice, particularly the cheesecake which was fantastic.

    Finally I want to praise all the staff who were involved. Everybody was very friendly, respectful & accommodating. It was well organised and there were no problems on the day, everything went smoothly. Even the night porter was more than happy to allow us to continue chatting and drinking in the lounge area after the music & main bars had closed, serving us drinks.

    All round fantastic place and I have no doubt that we will return for the odd visit, for old times sake.

  • Tranquility at it’s best

    This hotel offered a pleasant, clean, spacious room in a peaceful setting with the opportunity to stroll around delightful gardens. There was a varied menu, well presented at breakfast and Sunday lunch. Despite being situated near a busy road one was not aware of traffic noise. Historic East Retford is a quaint market town with interesting buildings, small shops, river and canal walks as well as a lovely park

  • Our Wedding Day 3rd Sep 2016

    Me and my husband got Married here on the 3rd of September, the venue and it’s grounds are just beautiful.

    We was supposed to have an outside wedding under the pagoda but the weather stopped that from happening but they set up our wedding inside and it was still everything we had dreamt of and more.

    Alice the lady in charge on the day and master of ceremonies was absolutely amazing. Alice did everything we asked of her efficiently and professionally and made us feel so relaxed.

    The food was very nice everyone thoroughly enjoyed it and we had no complaints.

    Me and my husband would definitely recommend this wedding venue. It’s so beautiful inside and out and the staff are always more than helpful.

    Thank you West Retford for the most amazing day of our lives!

    Love Mr & Mrs Jackson 🙂

  • Superb

    First time here and it was superb. Lovely staff, fantastic room. Very quiet at night as well.Lovely food. Cannot be faulted. I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels and this one is high in my top 10 of favourites. Excellent

  • Fabulous

    Amazing staff, so,so lovely and helpful. Our room was lovely and the evening meal, I had the lamb, was superb. Didn’t want it to end. Grounds were beautifully kept, great atmosphere and very good value for money. Will be going back.

  • 1 night booking for a friends wedding

    Lovely building fantastic clean modern room and very comfortable, best bed I have ever slept in even better than my own at home. quality linen and towels, lovely room.
    loved our short stay would defiantly recommend to anybody looking for for somewhere nice to stay.

  • Afternoon Tea Party

    Came for ‘Afternoon Tea’ on my sister’s 50th birthday. The sandwich and cake selection was lovely and very nicely presented. We were made to feel welcome by the staff overall and one staff member (Sharon Hewitt) in particular was extremely efficient, friendly and helpful. Thank you for making my sister’s special day extra special!

  • “Stunning”

    Attended a wedding here in the summer, A stunning little location, the rooms are outstanding quality. It didn’t feel like I was in retford at all, I felt half the world away. It really was beutiful. Very clean and tidy, huge bed and lots of space, having not had lunch before the event I wanted to order room service, unfortunatly this is at limited time, it would be much nicer if it was available 24/7 but it’s under standable that it isn’t. Breakfast was lovely, the reception staff were delightful. I would certainly stop here again, but not with out reason.

  • “New Year’s Eve celebration 2015”

    Stunning Hotel well worth a visit. The rooms are large and very comfortable. We had a 5 Coarse meal on this visit and it was Excellently cooked. Couldn’t fault it in any way. Cooked or un-cooked breakfast both were enough to set you on your way. Staff were all very friendly helpful and Professional. Thanks

  • “Great Hotel”

    Very impressed with the room for the price paid. Friendly staff, good bar and restaurant. A continental breakfast delivered to the room at no extra cost!!! A short walk to the town centre. Really struggling to find something negative but a short walk from room to reception and bar is outside and might be an issue in bad weather.

  • “Ladies Christmas gathering”

    We had a lovely evening here for our annual Christmas gathering. The atmosphere was good the food was good. The wine and drinks are over priced. I would recommend this location for the Christmas party night

  • “Xmas fayre menu”

    Visited the restaurant yesterday for a meal , I was very pleased with the meal, starter main and desert was lovely all very tasty and hot. Service was very efficient, had a number of waiters/ waitresses they were all pleasant. I will definitely return in the future. Thank you.

  • “Large Event”

    Well done for achieving well presented, well cooked food for a large event. Despite the fact that many people forget what they originally ordered! Wonderful setting and Excellent service from lovely staff, thank you.

  • “Christmas group meal”

    We had a lovely Lunch today . I was one of the group booking of 120. The staff were very helpful and attentive. I think this is the 3rd year we gave visited as a group and it gas been better each time.

  • “Fairytale Wedding”

    We recently had our wedding reception at The West Retford hotel and I can honestly say it was first class. Everything was perfect from the affordable package, the friendly staff, the hot delicious food and the spacious clean rooms. If we had to do it all again next week we wouldn’t change a thing it was absolutely magical.

  • “Lovely Weekend”

    Lovely room in the Georgian annexe which had just been refurbished. Spacious room with large ensuite – spotlessly clean. Dinner was excellent. Breakfast good but a bit too quick on the service – my food was on the table before I had chance to get my toast. Last time we stayed here it was all buffet style and I think that was better. Would certainly stay here again

  • “Had an AMAZING Wedding here!

    “I recently had my wedding reception at The West Retford Hotel. From start to finish the hotel catered for our every need. The venue was perfect, the staff were wonderful, especially Alice both during the preparation and on the actual day. A lot of family and friends stayed overnight (both before and after the day) and everyone said how lovely the accommodation and delicious the following breakfast was. I would defiantly recommend this hotel. The food at the wedding was superb and definitely exeeded our expectations. “

  • “Excellence”

    “Comfortable well furnished rooms . WiFi signal strong in rooms. Breakfast well presented and a good choice. Evening meals good quality and value. Ideal for exploring Sherwood Forest and surrounding attractions”

  • “Consistently Good”

    “We have stayed at the West Retford three times in the last 6 months. On each visit, we found the staff to be very obliging. The rooms are a decent size, well decorated and furnished.  Evening meals can be taken in the restaurant or in the lounge bar and are of good quality and price. Good choice of Continental & cooked food at breakfast. In our opinion, the hotel offers very good value for money and we look forward to our next stay.”

  • “Wedding Party”

    “Stayed here after attending a wedding which was also held at this venue. Staff are helpful,food is lovely, the rooms are well presented and the gardens are beautiful. Also close to town centre if you forget anything when away from home. “

  • “Fabulous Hotel”

    “We attended my sisters wedding at the West Retford Hotel and had an absolutely fantastic day! The food and the service were great and the gardens provided a beautiful backdrop for photographs. Our bedroom was very spacious and modern, it was spotlessly clean and had an extremely comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast the next morning was also excellent. Would highly recommend. “

  • “Excellent venue for a party”

    “The West Retford Hotel was an excellent venue for our Year 13 Leavers’ Party. From the beautifully dressed room, to the lovely gardens, it was a hit with students and staff attending the party. The food was outstanding, the service pleasant and relaxed, the bar staff friendly and professional. The DJ played a great mix of music and had everyone on the dance floor. We will definitely book again for next year.”

  • “So good we stayed there twice”

    “We felt relaxed from the minute we arrived. The room was clean, light and airy. Good WiFi access and comfy beds too. All in all the staff were superb, friendly polite and helpful right across the board from front of house to maintenance, housekeeping and gardening. Several weddings whilst we were there but all seemed to run like clockwork.  We’ll be back to explore the area and to be treated so well by such lovely well-matched staff.”

  • “Perfect Wedding Day”

    “We booked our civil wedding for 01/05/2015 approx 9 weeks before and during the build up Elaine was great with the details and helping us decide.
    We decided on the morning to have the ceremony in the gardens and it was beautiful.
    “Fantastic Fran” was our coordinator on the day and she was brilliant. in all can’t fault this venue and all our guests commented on what a great day they had.”

  • “very pleasant”

    “Recently stopped here for a wedding, we were in one of the littles cottages which we really liked. Very comfy bed, nice and warm. Spotlessly clean and free wi fi.”

  • “female travelling on her own with work”

    “Very pleasant place to stay indeed. Plenty parking – Every member of staff friendly and welcoming without being too pushy.Food very good and rooms welcoming and cosy with everything I needed.” Tripadvisor review

    — April 2015
  • Pleasant stay

    This was our second visit to the hotel. We stopped on a Monday evening as we visited relatives. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The garden to the rear of the hotel is well worth walking round – there is a fantastic collection of camellias !

  • Wedding weekend

    Wedding weekend

    “Having spent two nights at this hotel, it was a lovely time, all the arrangements for the wedding went perfectly, the staff were excellent, staff serving meals were quick, efficient and polite.”

  • Silver Wedding Celebration Experience

    Silver Wedding Celebration Experience

    “From start to finish the planning and execution of a celebration dinner/dance party for 100 guests was outstanding. The staff were extremely helpful, positive and welcoming.”

  • “A Perfect Weekend Break” ~ Tripadvisor

    “A Perfect Weekend Break” ~ Tripadvisor

    “Our rooms were spacious and looked to have been recently renovated. They had a well-presented bathroom (bath plus overhead shower), flat screen tv (freeview channels only) plus the usual tea / coffee making facilities. The beds were comfortable with a modern duvet and the rooms were expertly serviced each day.”

 
Share This